Doubt = Relevance

30352113
Growing up in a Protestant church I can speak first hand about the fear of doubt.  It is certainly not only a reputation for the church, but also a reality.  We are pressed to know what we believe and to be able to back it up with proof texts.  We are recommended to learn apologetics to be sort of a shield and sword to defend our faith.

Something has occurred to me: if our faith is everything we think it is, why do we have to put so much energy into defending it?  Why would we use weapons to fight against other people we are trying to make our allies?

Here is what I answered myself: the defense is about ME and not about God or about other people.  I need the security of proof texts and apologetics.  I need a firm foundation to stand on, even if that means adding thick stone walls to keep people from coming in; perhaps they will put too much weight on it and cause it to break.

I don’t think that this is at all what God intended.  Salvation is about freedom and God is bigger than I can explain or comprehend.  Doesn’t that mean that there is no possibility that I could have all the answers?

In fact, embrassing doubt means that we can be more relevant to our world.  Many are speaking about postmodern thought and within that context people are tending to more and more exhibit ambiguity and uncertainty in their philosophical orientations.  No doubt and certainity can actually feel like being laid to waste by a brick wall to many outside our faith community.

Do not fear: you have doubts and having doubts is not anti-biblical.  Remember that standing and facing the Son of God, a man said to Jesus, “I do believe; help me overcome my unbelief!”  Did Jesus rebuke him?  No! he instead healed the man’s son and rebuked the evil spirit that was possessing him.

Embrace doubt and connect with a dying world.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

About Aaron Gardner

Aaron is a counselor and student of the Bible, passionate about sharing the good news of Jesus Christ. He lives in central Indiana with his wife, one-year-old son and their two dogs. View all posts by Aaron Gardner

Comments are disabled.

