Getting Back on Track…

Ugh!

For those of you who have been following me for some time know that I have had to do this before: click here if you missed it.

Several people have mentioned to me concern about a recent post regarding Starbucks as a model for the marketing of the church.  While I thought that I had dunked it in my vat of sarcasm enough for it to ooze and drip, apparently it was not quite obvious enough.

Seriously, though my honest thoughts on marketing the church are that it is important to look professional and not like we just rolled out of bed to preach the gospel.  The message of Christ, however, should always speak for itself, with no need for help from us.  The Word of God is living and breathing, alive and active.

Frankly, I am ashamed of churches that put so much time, money, and attention into branding a sermon series or making sure that they do something to get on the evening news that they miss what is most important.  If you undercut the gospel message to sell your product, then what are you really doing it for?

Again appreciation to those who challenged me about that post, and you know who you are.  I hope that you will chose to make your comments public next time so that we can use this as a forum to challenge one another through dialogue.  To those who have stopped reading accordingly and who may never read this I would say the same thing.

If you say some of the things I do then you are bound to get some of them wrong.  That is the beauty of the community we share as followers of Christ: when we get out of line we can be confident in gentle, although firm correction and challenge.

About Aaron Gardner

Aaron is a counselor and student of the Bible, passionate about sharing the good news of Jesus Christ. He lives in central Indiana with his wife, one-year-old son and their two dogs. View all posts by Aaron Gardner

Comments are disabled.

