What Do You Get When You Cross 300 Atheists and the Creation Museum?

Greetings!  After a two day respite I have finally found the strength to crawl out into the light to share a bit about my adventure. 

It was on Friday, August 7, 2009 that yours truly visited the Creation Museum in Petersburg, KY in the company of more than 300 atheists who were holding a nearby conference and thought that it would be an eye-opening experience.  And eye-opening it was! 

I will share my thoughts in a later post, but for those of you who are eager for reports, here are some from formidable people who were in attendance and Ken Ham (CEO and president of Answers in Genesis) who was not in attendance but obviously had something to say.

About Aaron Gardner

Aaron is a counselor and student of the Bible, passionate about sharing the good news of Jesus Christ. He lives in central Indiana with his wife, one-year-old son and their two dogs. View all posts by Aaron Gardner

9 responses to “What Do You Get When You Cross 300 Atheists and the Creation Museum?

  • morsec0de

    I love what Ham and Looy define as ‘acting up’ by the one young man. They were clearly looking for some kind of excuse to kick someone out.

    “The prof got on, too, but insisted that he only saw the children’s sign after he got on! Here is a photo of the sign which is easy to see and read:”

    And sadly, a sign, no matter how easily displayed, is easily blocked by a massive group of congregating people.

  • Aaron

    I totally missed the sign, too!

  • Hidi

    It’s interesting to see both sides’ accounts of the visit. In the museum security report, there were young men asked to turn their shirts inside out. One was obviously wearing an Atheistic message…one that has been on busses lately. The other young man was actually wearing a Christian t-shirt from his younger days (and a name tag associating himself with the students). If memory serves correctly, it was Ephesians 2:8. Because “not” and “God” showed up in the same sentence, he was asked to turn it inside out.
    Also, they complained that many students were disruptive during the presentation with the professor. In all honesty, he promised the ultimate proof of why creation is true, but delivered a message about logic instead. The room was so quiet, I almost fell asleep. Other than the loud “AMEN”s coming from a lady to my left, I didn’t hear a peep during the lecture.

    I, too, am still processing. I found the experience to be disturbing. While some are rejoicing because “the others” heard the “gospel message” (funny, I think I missed it, actually), I am sad that the experience confirmed for many the presuppositions that Christians are, well, not open for civil discussion. The biggest complaint I heard from the group of students was that Christians say the Bible is true because the Bible says it’s true. (We then in turn take this truth to bash people over the head with the absolute truth they don’t believe in anyway.) This last bit is the part I’m really still chewing on. Where’s the love?

  • Matthew Johnston

    Hi Aaron,

    I looked for a way to contact you in private via this blog but could not find a way so I have had to post a comment here. Knowing me the way to contact you is right before my eyes……my wife puts up with my lack of searching skills 🙂

    The reason for my comment comes as a result of noticing you have Brian McLaren on your blog roll. I’d be interested to get your thoughts on Brian? & The entire “emerging/emergent church’ for that matter.
    I have my own and they are not so positive.

    Kind thoughts in Him,

    Matthew Johnston

  • Aaron

    Hi Matthew!

    Thank you for your inquiry… it is always good to know someone else who is willing to challenge and stretch me.

    I think that at least some of your question is addressed in comments on my post at http://pastoraaron.info/2009/07/24/religulous-is-ridiculous/. Take a look there and let me know if that helps.

  • Matthew Johnston

    I had a look and no it did not “help”. 🙂

    Maybe you can elaborate on my initial question(s)?

  • Aaron

    I would be happy to share my thoughts, but this forum may not be the place. Would you mind if I sent you an email?

  • Joe Sizemore

    Aaron,

    You have been sending me your blog links for a while, via facebook and honestly this is the first one i have taken the time to read. Now that I have, I’ll be sure to read more often. Keep up the great work!
    I too attended the creation museum a few months ago. Mine was an enjoyable experience which I found very satisfying (being a devout christian). I am also very glad that a group of agnostics and athiest would take the time to visit an attraction which proclaimed and presented the opposing view. I personally think that, for the most part, the creation museum does this in a very respecfull way. However, when 300 people who are as commited to their believes as we (as christians) are to ours, come and tour such an expression; what do people think is going to happen? I know we’d all like to believe that peace, love, harmony and cool heads will prevail, ( and they should) but we cant even get people to civicly debate healthcare in this country. I truly hate to hear of your experience, and it is simply appaling to me that in the 21st century that “Christian” people (who are striving to be like christ, hence the name) would resort to such arrogant means. I dont believe thats how Jesus would have done it. I want everyone to know that until a Christian and an Athiest can sit down and have a friendly, civil, educated conversation / debate then we may be doomed to repeat ourselves. “Be ye kind one to another and so fulfill the law of Christ.”.

    Thanks agan,
    Joe

