Dan Brown Shares His Faith

Dan Brown Lost Symbol

Dan Brown, the author of the ever contraversial book The Da Vinci Code just released a brand new book called The Lost Symbol.  On Tuesday, September 15th he was interviewed on Today by Matt Lauer.  Among other things, Lauer asked Brown about his faith.  Here is what he said:

Q: Are you religious?

A: I was raised Episcopalian, and I was very religious as a kid. Then, in eighth or ninth grade, I studied astronomy, cosmology, and the origins of the universe. I remember saying to a minister, “I don’t get it. I read a book that said there was an explosion known as the Big Bang, but here it says God created heaven and Earth and the animals in seven days. Which is right?” Unfortunately, the response I got was, “Nice boys don’t ask that question.” A light went off, and I said, “The Bible doesn’t make sense. Science makes much more sense to me.” And I just gravitated away from religion.

Q: Where are you now?

A: The irony is that I’ve really come full circle. The more science I studied, the more I saw that physics becomes metaphysics and numbers become imaginary numbers. The farther you go into science, the mushier the ground gets. You start to say, “Oh, there is an order and a spiritual aspect to science.”

My response is simply to say that there is a place for questions.  People are asking questions all the time, and if people of faith have no answers to those questions it makes it very difficult for people to believe what we tell them is the truth.  Take time to seek the questions and be fervent to answer them, even before they are posed.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

About Aaron Gardner

Aaron is a counselor and student of the Bible, passionate about sharing the good news of Jesus Christ. He lives in central Indiana with his wife, one-year-old son and their two dogs. View all posts by Aaron Gardner

10 responses to “Dan Brown Shares His Faith

  • Tom Sims

    It is very interesting to see this indication of Dan Brown’s journey in the direction of faith.

  • RBH

    Take time to seek the questions and be fervent to answer them, even before they are posed.

    Are you sure you want to recommend that course? Think about it.

  • Aaron

    Yes! I have thought about it and Christianity, contrary to what you may think, is logical.

  • RBH

    My question refers to the italicized bit. Writing as an atheist, I get offended when Christians presume to ‘answer’ questions I haven’t asked, particularly since I regard many such questions as nonsensical.

    The “logic” of Christianity, or indeed of religion in general, is another whole can of worms.

  • Aaron

    Let’s do some hermenutics. I understand that you do not need those questions asked before you pose them. However, in a way they have been and are being posed. Dan Brown posed them as a child and many continue to ask the same questions. I am not advocating here that I need to knock on your door and answer questions for you before you personally ask them of me. That is rude, presuptuous, forceful, and very ineffective. Dialgue involves relationship, and I have no relationship to the Mormons tho show up at my door and ask me to read their book and expect the “burning in my bossom.”

    What I am suggesting here is that there are answers to those questions. And as a Christian I want to encourage other Christians to know what they think about these questions rather than dismiss them and in so doing dismiss the questioner. Does that make sense?

  • RBH

    Sure that makes sense, and is quite different from “be[ing] fervent to answer them, even before they are posed.” But yeah, Christians should be prepared to both answer and listen to rebuttals. That last is important, too. Too often I’ve rebutted an argument, only to have it repeated again almost verbatim, as though I’d said nothing.

  • Boz

    A question that I have is “did Jared (Genesis chapter 5) actaully exist? If so, did he live to be 962 years”

    This is related to one of my posts on “How stuck on god are you”

  • Mark

    As a physicist, I’m saddened by Dan Brown’s second answer, as it indicates a misunderstanding of quantum mechanics and mathematics.

    There is absolutely nothing “mushy” about imaginary numbers. i*i=-1 has the same force of truth and certainty as 1+1=2. (I’ll neglect what “truth” means in mathematics for now.)

    Quantum mechanics is not a theory based upon uncertainty. What we’ve been discovering is that the questions we used to ask have less meaning than before. To ask “What is the exact position of the electron?” has as much meaning as “What is the color of the letter A?” But, when scientists use quantum mechanics to make predictions about experiments and technology, they are accurate to 1 part in a billion.

    This is one of the reasons why I always shake my head and groan whenever science (especially modern science) is used in a religious context. The other is that modern science is always presented in a negative light in that everything is uncertain and relative–a sign of the times. Would they prefer the certainty of the old physics of Newton and Maxwell, which didn’t allow for anything in the universe more complicated than a neutron?

  • Boz

    If Believer A prefers to rationalize things one way, and Believer B takes a different approach, how does one determine who, if any, is correct?

  • Eve

    The prophet in all his speaches talked about many manifistations of Love which is the very being of the God he served. What is Love? For me it is the intent to contribute to the experience of health happiness and prosperity in someones life other then your own. However I do believe further that it is the attempt to intend this to all you come in contact with, as Jesus did. No more and no less.

    As A believer in Christ, a prophet, I believe his only attempt was to get us to be responsible for our own behavior, learn to intend health, happiness and prosperity for all that we come in contact with ,as he did and follow our own enlightenments from there. God is a intimate relationship that is expressed in a public way.

    The person who’s question brings health happiness and prosperity in any form. If the question cannot conclude at its true end with this expression it is not a question worth asking.

    Thank you, Mr Brown, for you interesting take in fiction on religion and the history of Jesus. It was wonderful to see how someone might free his mind in search of truth.

