Twitterations: Sovereignty and Self

Yesterday I wrote a post about Donald Miller’s opinion that God does not have a plan for our lives, unless he has made direct revelation in the form of a talking donkey or a miraculous pregancy. 

Today, Tullian Tchividjian, pastor of Coral Ridge Presbyterian Church in Fort Lauderdale, FL made this observation:

The gospel jackhammers the ground we love to stand on: self-reliance! (Online Source)

Indeed this is the heart of the life of a person called by God, put more simply: a Christian.  Ephesians 2:10 is clear that God does have a plan for our lives, and the consequence of Adam’s desire to rely on himself and not God is the curse that each of us had inherited.

Thanks be to God for his sovereign grace and boundless mercy! It is only by his power that we are saved to new life, and this new creation is done apart from us and for works according to God’s good pleasure.

About Aaron Gardner

Aaron is a counselor and student of the Bible, passionate about sharing the good news of Jesus Christ. He lives in central Indiana with his wife, one-year-old son and their two dogs. View all posts by Aaron Gardner

2 responses to “Twitterations: Sovereignty and Self

  • Anon

    Aaron… I hope you don’t post this as I feel it will only cause more problems, so please don’t. I only write you to encourage you to pray for Donald Miller and perhaps even enlist a prayer team on his behalf. You are not the only one he has refused to listen to, there are others, one of who I believe is Mark Driscoll, which would be a very big fight. That said, I am glad to see it because this means God is moving and I do believe there is a great spiritual battle being waged to take every bit of Donald Miller back for the glory of God’s Kingdom, as God showed me in a vision several months ago that the enemy had already laid claim to almost half of him. Please pray – it is the only way things will change.

  • Aaron

    Agreed. I do think it is a fair crtique, but I admit that I wrote it in haste. Today I wrote this: https://lunchboxsw.wordpress.com/2010/05/25/right-theology-cannot-save-you/ … hopefully you will agree that it helps to put the conversation in perspective and appeals to common ground for me and for Miller, though we may be in different camps.

