Churchyard Bullies

I don’t want to belabor the point, but I am really getting tired of all the bullying that I am seeing.  As many of my reformed brethren, I was disappointed when John Piper announced that he had invited Rick Warren to speak at this year’s Desiring God Conference.

My position on Warren’s theology and his “purpose-driven” movement has not been quiet, and admittedly at time has been rude and inconsiderate.  To say that, as a Christian brother, he has nothing of value to contribute is childish, puerile, and unbiblical.  We are undoubtedly called to use discernment in our teaching and in our conversation.  However, to lash out at a Christian brother regardless of what he is actually saying because judgment has already been made on his theology is not following biblical discernment.

I have spoken to and read reviews of Warren’s talk at the conference, and even many reformed folk think that much of what he said was good, biblical, and appropriate.

Point made.  And if you think that this is just my opinion and that it does not come from Scripture, please consider 2 Timothy 4:1-10 in the context of the rest of the book as I have done here: Into the Fray with the Gospel.

About Aaron Gardner

Aaron is a counselor and student of the Bible, passionate about sharing the good news of Jesus Christ. He lives in central Indiana with his wife, one-year-old son and their two dogs. View all posts by Aaron Gardner

2 responses to “Churchyard Bullies

  • Monex

    ………..Many times when I tell other Christians about the tactics that Saddleback employs to protect Rick Warren and his image the response I get is utter disbelief. But I am not…When evidence appears on the internet of Rick Warren or members of his church saying or doing things that are out of step with the truth or could be damaging to his image these things have a habit of disappearing from the web. A very well documented case of this occurred in November 2006 when Rick Warren travelled to Syria and was reportedly making statements that were favorable to the Syrian government and their policies regarding religious tolerance.

